Any excuse will do

Any excuse will do. Any excuse will do. It’s been repeating in my head for a couple days now. It started off soft and it’s gotten louder each time. It won’t be long before it’s screaming through my head.

Any excuse will do. I keep thinking about why anyone would spend thousands of dollars on a happiness workshop. Any excuse will do. I haven’t attended many conferences and workshops yet I’m convinced that nothing they could present is new. Maybe a new way of presenting it, maybe it’s paired with good music or the exercises were adapted to the ideas presented, but is that alone worth thousands of dollars? Any excuse will do keeps echoing in my mind. So these people are spending thousands of dollars for an excuse. Any excuse to do what? Be happy?

Be happy. I see lots of smiling faces, all a glow, bouncy energy flowing and for a moment I believe it. Any excuse will do. Some of the most smiling faces I know are also the most depressed faces I know. I see it and they don’t want me to see it. So I smile back.

How odd that the smile is used to express happy. A smile is a threat. A smile shows teeth, shows power, shows force. And this is what happy is all about? There it goes again, Any excuse will do. A real happy shows in the eyes. A real happy draws one upward into the soul. And now you know why eyes are called windows of the soul.

Any excuse will do.

About Isabella LeCour

She is nothing more than the collections of thoughts placed into the virtual worlds. She is a poet, a mother, a lover, many things to different people. But mostly, she is nothing but smoke and mirrors - some ethereal thing that blinks in an out of existence.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.