Thank You for Gratitude

I started Gratitude Friday’s back in April of 2013. I haven’t been consistent with keeping up on posting with it. Yet I maintained every Friday a few minutes of my day to review what I was grateful for. It took me months to build up to five things. For me, that reflects how deeply entrenched I was into negativity. My marriage was on the rocks. We were looking at divorce and wondering how it had all come down to this.

I ran across a blog that outlined the practice of Gratitude. It resonated with me and I decided to try it out. It became a matter of stubborn pride to find things to list. I knew something was seriously wrong with me if I could not list five things in just a week.

Now, I list three things every morning. I could list more but I choose to limit it to the top three things every day. I’ve seen how this changed me. When I say ‘thank you’ I know what I am thankful for and it’s deeply felt. I’m a much happier person. I have three things to look back on every day and three more to look forward too.

The world really has expanded wide open for me. To see the world with eyes of gratitude – is to live a life of joy.

I woke up to this when in the middle of the rather painful emotional experience, I was able to turn and say thank you for this experience, and I meant it. For in that moment, what was pain transformed into a lesson learned, an experience that belonged in the past and I was now standing beyond its grasp.

Gratitude is not an easy path to walk. It offers no advice except to be grateful. It offers no advice on how to choose to be grateful or what to be grateful for. It offers no condemnation if one is not grateful or if they are. It is just a journey, to explore what one is grateful for. What we discover has always belonged to us anyway.

I find I return to gratitude when going through difficult times. I like reminding myself that there are good things in this world and that I appreciate them. So, this Friday I once again turn towards Gratitude.

I am;

I am grateful to be alive in this day and age.
I am grateful to wake up and see this world as it is and know I have the chance to change it.
I am grateful I am not alone in this world, that there people who dedicate their lives to the betterment of all humanity.
I am grateful for the love I have in my heart, for the love I have shared and for the love I will share again.

Thank you all for enriching my life.

About Isabella LeCour

She is nothing more than the collections of thoughts placed into the virtual worlds. She is a poet, a mother, a lover, many things to different people. But mostly, she is nothing but smoke and mirrors - some ethereal thing that blinks in an out of existence.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thank You for Gratitude

  1. I agree with you, Isabella, gratitude is a key to happiness. I would go so far as to say that it might even be the single most important key. Would you agree with that? I’m curious what you think.

Comments are closed.