Between Love and Power

” Where love rules, there is no will to power; and where power predominates, there love is lacking. The one is the shadow of the other. ” -Carl Jung

I saw the above quote in my G+ feed and it brought clarity to an issue I’ve been struggling with for some time. In my own D/s dynamics both as slave and a Mistress, the moment deep emotions become involved, emotions like love there seems to be an equal loss of will in keeping the D/s dynamic alive, but it’s more on the D-type side. I lose the drive to exercise power.

If anything love seems to increase my needs to submit in s-type relationships yet it weakens my resolve as a D-type. Is this something that happens in your own relationships? I am wondering if it is a universal response.

I’m chewing on the idea that boundaries and discipline are equally needed to manage love within a D/s relationship. But my knee jerk reaction to all this is that love is something that should never been restricted yet that conflicts with the desires of a D/s relationship.

Perhaps balancing love and power is what D/s is all about or just my personal weakness that needs work. To love just a little less in the moment to get things done, is a sacrifice…becomes a sacrifice of love.

About Isabella LeCour

She is nothing more than the collections of thoughts placed into the virtual worlds. She is a poet, a mother, a lover, many things to different people. But mostly, she is nothing but smoke and mirrors - some ethereal thing that blinks in an out of existence.
This entry was posted in Sexuality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.