Pagans, Hugging, and the Fine Art of Consent: A PSA

Okay, before I can even get started on what I want to say, just hop on over to the link below, read through it and come on back. I have some words I need to lay down. I’ll wait.

Pagans, Hugging, and the Fine Art of Consent: A PSA

Okay. You made it back. Good. What did you think about the article? What did you think about all the comments? Good. Keep those in mind for a moment longer. I want to try something here.  I have a video to offer….I’ll add it as a link….take a viewing and come on back.

Tea Consent – YouTube

Made it back again, great! What do you think? It’s still about the same issues, consent. It really doesn’t matter what the topic is, be it hugs, or tea or even sex.

I think the problem is that in our Western Culture, society tends to allow things to be swept under the rug often for the sake of status quo. And frankly change is hard and often painful. If you take away respect for consent, take away the right for a person to establish boundaries for themselves, take away the right to refuse hugs….I hope you can see where this is going.

Let me put it simply, we live in a Rape culture. This culture finds tons of ways to excuse various violations of consent. It’s pervasive. If you are not aware of consent and the way you may be violating them, then you are contributing to this Rape culture. Just take a look at the news and you see reports of young adults getting into trouble because they had no idea what they were doing was wrong! Is this a lack of education or them being exactly what this culture expects them to be?

I would love to be able to say that everyone would want a culture that respects individuals and their rights to have and enforce boundaries over their own body. The article about hugging and the comments show me that as a society we have a lot more to do in educating people about the basics of consent.

 

About Isabella LeCour

She is nothing more than the collections of thoughts placed into the virtual worlds. She is a poet, a mother, a lover, many things to different people. But mostly, she is nothing but smoke and mirrors - some ethereal thing that blinks in an out of existence.
This entry was posted in Life, Sexuality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pagans, Hugging, and the Fine Art of Consent: A PSA

  1. Alice says:

    I read this right after seeing a comic on consent, which I now feel compelled to share (ICYMI) in trade for your links above! 🙂

    http://everydayfeminism.com/2015/06/how-society-treats-consent/

Comments are closed.