Wheat Bread

Yesterday I made some yummy wheat bread. I had a chance to work on it while my daughters were down for naps. It was the first time they were both asleep. It was nice getting my hands in the dough without worrying that I’m going to have to stop and clean up to tend to them.

I made Woman’s Day cookbook’s recipe for sandwich bread and adapted it for whole wheat.
I used 1 1/2 C whole wheat flour, 1/2 C wheat germ, 4 tsp of wheat gluten and the rest AP flour for the dry ingredients. I had never used wheat gluten before. I am very happy with the results. When I’ve made wheat bread before it’s always been a dense hard loaf. These loaves came out soft. They rose well, held their shape and the grain was perfect. And the taste was great.

Because of the basic economies that we are having to take, I don’t think that we will be purchasing bread anymore. Just for the taste alone, I don’t think I’m going back. The only downside, if there is one is that I’m sore. I do the kneading by hand so ten minutes is a bit of a workout. Well, said that way it’s not so much of a downside after all. I need to find ways to stay active and being sore tells me that I’m out of shape. Hopefully it won’t last too long.

I’m curious what the exact cost per loaf is. That little project is on my task list now. I’m looking forward to doing more bread baking. All I have to do is get my girls to take naps at the same time.

About Isabella LeCour

She is nothing more than the collections of thoughts placed into the virtual worlds. She is a poet, a mother, a lover, many things to different people. But mostly, she is nothing but smoke and mirrors - some ethereal thing that blinks in an out of existence.
This entry was posted in Kitchen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wheat Bread

  1. lovinangels says:

    Have you tried the artisan bread in five minutes a day method of bread making? It's super easy. It will help with the 'oven spring' portion that was in a later post as well.

Comments are closed.