Altars

I’ve had different altar setups over the year. The impulse started as an artful arrangement of rocks that evolved to finding and placing meaningful objects (more rocks) in pleasing arrangements. I feel altars are a visual reminder of ideas through the symbolic objects placed on it. Everything on it is meaningful to me or has a specific ritual purpose.

On my altar in the center I have a small garden statue of a Chinese Buddha that’s flanked by candles and sea shells. I have a statuette of two figures intertwined that’s called “The Lovers” on the left. I have a blessing bowl set in the back right corner. There is a crochet bowl in the left corner that holds my stones. I have a pair of sun shaped glass containers behind Buddha. One contains sea salt and the other is used for Holy Water and is kept empty until needed. Directly in front of Buddha is my little cast iron cauldron. Normally it’s not kept on the altar but it’s being used in a working.

Eventually I hope to have icons of my personal Deity’s to display. I’m working on drawing a few of them. They’re just not quite right yet. I’m not willing to place just any ole symbol on it. It has to be the right one. I’m willing to wait.

About Isabella LeCour

She is nothing more than the collections of thoughts placed into the virtual worlds. She is a poet, a mother, a lover, many things to different people. But mostly, she is nothing but smoke and mirrors - some ethereal thing that blinks in an out of existence.
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Altars

  1. I've been thinking about how to represent my personal deity too. I wish I were a better artist! I've tried to find a commercially-produced figuring but they're all kind of corny. Oh well, someday…

Comments are closed.