We Pagans……

I’m annoyed and I’m admitting this first off.

The phrase “we Pagans” really pisses me off. Call it a pet peeve of mine. Doing it might be a newbie’s mistake, or it might not be. Either way, extreme use of “we Pagans” makes my blood boil.

It’s bad enough that there isn’t enough in common with Pagans already and the use of “we Pagans” just makes it worse. All I want to see follow “we Pagans” is a dose of truth.

We Pagans don’t all agree.
We Pagans are not all Wiccans.
We Pagans don’t all follow Esbats.
We Pagans don’t all use magic.
We Pagans don’t all follow the same Gods.
We Pagans don’t all have the same beliefs.

When using “we Pagans” stop. Consider all the other Pagan paths out there and if what you wrote can not include all Pagan paths then don’t use “we Pagans.” Use “I” or “me” or “this path often does x y and z.”

Frankly I’m beyond offended when I read “we Pagans celebrate Esbats.” I don’t and I’m still a Pagan!!

About Isabella LeCour

She is nothing more than the collections of thoughts placed into the virtual worlds. She is a poet, a mother, a lover, many things to different people. But mostly, she is nothing but smoke and mirrors - some ethereal thing that blinks in an out of existence.
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.