CUUP’s Autumn Equinox Ritual.

Last Friday night I attended a CUUP’s ritual for the Autumn Equinox. I had totally missed out on the planning meeting so I had no idea what to expect. First it was re-scheduled due to Hanna and then then my daughter was rushed to the doctors the following Friday so I never made it. Which turned out to be a good thing as this time I got to see the magic without being a part of its creation. It’s a very different POV.

It was a great ritual. A bit Wiccanequess for my taste…casting circle, calling quarters, a little bit of theatrics, fire-fire; yeah all the good stuff. This time the Goddess was the focus. It was as if the Great Goddess came and walked circle praising us and admonished us for the harvest, both of the great table laden with the pot-luck dinner and of the harvest of the soul and our lives. We were praised, encouraged and blessed. It truly was a time of thanksgiving and of reflection.

It was an amazing night. The ritual started off with the traditional smudging of sage and the gifting of harvest gifts which consisted of a necklace of seeds and seed pods. We were led into the circle and sung (as we were able)the chant “She changes everything she touches. And Everything She touches Changes.” It became a very powerful meditative element. The lighting of the sacred fire was spectacular. There was an upright bundle of dried corn stalks in the middle of the fire pit. It went up very fast and died down to embers almost instantly. Afterwards there a good moment of self reflection while holding hands in the Great Circle.

The sky was overcast at the beginning of the ritual and by the time the ritual was over the sky had cleared. We sang, danced and feasted under the stars. I was moved unlike I had ever been moved before. When the Goddess entered the circle it really felt that the Great Lady was there standing before me and talking to all who was there. My response was so strong I had both the chills and the goosebumps.

Even though I had a great time, some things glaringly need more work. One of which was the outdoor pot-luck which was served by candle light and ate picnic style at around 9:30 at night. There wasn’t enough light at all to see what was there so it quickly became a game of mystery dinner. Very unpleasant. I need to bring a flash light from now on.

Even when it was over I didn’t want to leave. I can’t wait to see what the next ritual is going to be like.

About Isabella LeCour

She is nothing more than the collections of thoughts placed into the virtual worlds. She is a poet, a mother, a lover, many things to different people. But mostly, she is nothing but smoke and mirrors - some ethereal thing that blinks in an out of existence.
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.