Open mindedness

It’s very rare to find a religious forum that claims to be open mined and actually be so. Recently I was disappointed in a forum that claimed such and failed miserable. Instead I found them to be very New Ageish in promoting topics while deleting and discouraging topics I found interesting.

The latest kicker for me was; while reading a thread it was locked and then deleted. The only reason I can come up with for this action was that the poster was actually questioning and seeking answers and understanding but from a different point of view. This poster was very respectful but very confused about how they site gods wanted things to occur. And then the Almighty accusation came down from above….”you need to be open minded…”

I really wish I had copy and pasted that thread. It had a lot of good info. I was wanting to review the thread in the hopes of teasing out exactly why the site gods had such an issue and why they used such a heavy hand in dealing with a very minor disagreement. This incident explains why there were no locked threads available for reading and explains why there isn’t a lot of posts either. I guess I can chalk that site up as not one for free speech on the web. Things like what I watched keeps me a lurker on most forums.

So what is being open minded:
As per Dictionary.com

1. having or showing a mind receptive to new ideas or arguments.
2. unprejudiced; unbigoted; impartial.

A great blog post about being open minded:
Skeptico Blogs

A Quiz about being Open Minded:


You Are 60% Open Minded


You are a very open minded person, but you’re also well grounded.
Tolerant and flexible, you appreciate most lifestyles and viewpoints.
But you also know where you stand firm, and you can draw that line.
You’re open to considering every possibility – but in the end, you stand true to yourself.

About Isabella LeCour

She is nothing more than the collections of thoughts placed into the virtual worlds. She is a poet, a mother, a lover, many things to different people. But mostly, she is nothing but smoke and mirrors - some ethereal thing that blinks in an out of existence.
This entry was posted in Quizs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.