Ham, Potato and Leek Soup

I had been wanting to make a good soup ever sense I froze all the stock in ice cubes but I was waiting for the perfect recipe, the perfect time and the perfect ingredients. With this soup I think it really happened. After seeing leeks on sale my palate was salivating in memory of potato and leak soups of my childhood. Which was nothing more than the instant Knor soup mix. Ahh, but they are so so good. With that in mind I scoured the web for a good formula. I settled on a ham, potato and leak recipe, found here.

I made several adaptations to fit what I had on hand. Below is what I created out of my kitchen.

Ham, Potato and Leek Soup a la ME:

2 Tbsp butter
1 large white onion, diced
1 Sm bunch celery, about six stalks diced.
3 medium leeks, thinly sliced and diced, white and light green parts only,
6 cups chicken broth approx….which was one and a half bags of frozen chicken stock cubes
6 russet potatoes diced, two of which were shredded
About a pound hunk of ham, leftover from a baked ham
one can of evaporated milk
Salt and black pepper to taste

Directions:
Take stock cubes and dump into pot. Add about a half inch of water to get the melt on. Add frozen ham hunk to defrost with cubes. Stir often to ensure no ice remains. Saute onions, celery and leeks together. Add to boiling broth, ham and potatoes. Let cook for about 20 mins and shmmosh potatoes. Remove ham and dice roughly, return it to the pot. Add shredded potatoes to increase thickness. Stir often. Let cook for about half an hour, until you can’t see the onions and celery anymore. Seeing the leeks are fine. Reduce heat and keep stirring. Once the soup is thick enough and not boiling go ahead and add the can of evaporated milk. Be sure to stir it in and do not bring it back to a boil. Just let it cool. Serve it up, adjust seasoning per person. Serve with a side of cornbread.

It came out really good. I love leeks. My only problem is that even with the small amount of milk in the soup, it was still a bit too much for my poor lactose sensitive bowels. I need to find a way to make this soup creamy but without the effects of lactose.

About Isabella LeCour

She is nothing more than the collections of thoughts placed into the virtual worlds. She is a poet, a mother, a lover, many things to different people. But mostly, she is nothing but smoke and mirrors - some ethereal thing that blinks in an out of existence.
This entry was posted in Kitchen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.