Thoughts on Polytheism

Polytheism:

The belief in many Gods. Not the idea of “All Gods are One God.” But instead

Comes in several flavors, soft, hard and my favorite eclectic polytheism.

I am a hard polytheistic Pagan and I don’t believe in a single unifying principal / deity / power / energy or God as the underlying foundation to the universe nor do I see any great power creating the universe.

I view the Gods as individuals and I don’t view them as the same thing or even the same idea. The idea of deity is a catch all for beings, powers, energies, ideas, forces, archetypes, memes; anything that is more in the mental/spiritual realm and defies defining. I like the idea that deity is the pattern we see in chaos that brings greater meaning to our lives. I do see the Gods as something extra ordinary that influences, communicates and interacts in our lives through various ways. I don’t see the Gods as some thing greater than us, an all powerful being that represents the ultimate super-human with all the “correct” traits that will preserve humanity.

I feel that the nature of the universe is set up on it’s own rules and is a natural process that requires no super-being thought to exist. I see the universe as an infinite cyclic creation that exists and re-exists for all time. I do not see a catalytic point as required but instead see a paradox creation that caused or was caused by time.

The Gods are far more complex than any series of labels.

About Isabella LeCour

She is nothing more than the collections of thoughts placed into the virtual worlds. She is a poet, a mother, a lover, many things to different people. But mostly, she is nothing but smoke and mirrors - some ethereal thing that blinks in an out of existence.
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.