Being a Net Pagan…

I’ve got a few moments today so I thought I’d write a little something about myself.

For being Pagan, I’m not much active on the net like I used to be. I still have a website which I haven’t updated in ages. It is Pagan orientated and mostly articles that I write. I didn’t want a site that repeats every little thing that all the other Pagany sites have. I wanted original works and I’ve found that getting a chance to write and then code a page is a lot more time consuming than I have. So I’m starting to transfer all my articles to this blog. It’s going to be slow work as I’ve got to finish a few of the articles and pick through the articles that was just filler for the site.

I’m also a member to a select few Pagan/Religious forums. I’m done my shopping around and I’ve found that at some forums I’d rather read than participate. There is only one forum that I participate in a semi-regular basis and it’s a religious debates forum. It has a great admin and it’s really like a second web family. Completely no non-sense and doesn’t tolerate trolls and disruptor’s. If you can’t follow the formula of formal debate, then it’s not the place for you. As much as I love that site the Pagans on it are some of the most not debate people I’ve every met. For some reason I can’t get a good debate out of them. I’m trying but I’m starting to wonder if I’m offering the correct “bait.” It just can’t be that these fellow Pagans are advance enough that emotions isn’t invested in any particular topic, cause or idea.

I’ve had my share of owning and moderating several Yahoo groups and forums. The Yahoo groups that I’ve had (Isabella’s Grove , NNYPNO and now VPCOHR) I’ve closed after interest in them dwindled to nothing. I’ve tried to help networking for Pagans in Virginia but each time I’ve gotten swamped with ads for other pagan events and nothing else. No one seams to want to talk about the personal side of being Pagan and share what each of us does in our practice. Even trying to co-host the NNYPNO collapsed due to lack of participation. I know it isn’t the only Meet-Up that’s collapsed in the area and I know that it will be attempted again. What is it about Pagans that led us to stay un-organised and un-able to form functional and healthy groups?

Even with all of these past troubles, I’m keeping open one forum: The Virginia Pagan Community Of Hampton Roads with a Yahoo sister site. I have no members and I post whatever I want. Eventually I will post a link to Witchvox to advertise this forum but for now I’m just letting it sit. I’m slowly adding links to it all over the web. Trying to attract members without sending out personal invitations, should I send out such an invite? Please by all means, take a look and join…if you’re a Virginian Pagan.

I know the Internet has really expanded our ability to express our religious preferences and have allowed us to educated others about our practices. But I think a point has been reached where everyone starts repeating the same basic information that everyone else knows. Where are the new thoughts, new viewpoints and the new teachers? Surely our practice isn’t that boring that we can’t discuss endlessly about it.

Where are the apologetics? the philosophers?
Who’s discussing the merits of having a pantheistic view? a polytheistic view?
Who’s discussing the how’s and why’s of practice?
Where are thinkers in Paganism?

About Isabella LeCour

She is nothing more than the collections of thoughts placed into the virtual worlds. She is a poet, a mother, a lover, many things to different people. But mostly, she is nothing but smoke and mirrors - some ethereal thing that blinks in an out of existence.
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being a Net Pagan…

  1. Tom says:

    Hi Isabella. I agree with you in that there should be more discussion among Pagans on theology, philosophy, etc. I’ve brought up pantheism a few times on my blog.http://alverad.wordpress.com/

Comments are closed.